This post is inspired by another post, thanks Jake Remegi! I started practicum two weeks ago. And while I love my cooperating teacher, one aspect of the classroom is starting to bother me. Almost every class for the past two weeks has consisted of talking briefly for 10 minutes or so, explaining an assignment, and then allowing the students to read a passage or article or complete an assignment in class silently, by themselves, for the remainder of the period. The entire class period then turns into nothing more than a study hall. I’m not learning any teaching practices and I don’t know that the kids are learning anything more than how to churn out written assignments. I’m not one to judge another teacher’s teaching style, to each their own, but come on… silent study time can’t be the most effective way to run a classroom or a lesson. There hasn’t been one homework assignment given the entire two weeks I have been observing. I’m worried about a lack of interaction and discussion. Not having homework is great and giving kids time to work on stuff in class has it’s place, but not every day as a constant teaching tool. Thought?! Am I simply being judgmental?