OK, so here it is. Since starting this program, one thought has pervaded my mind and that is: How do I, as a teacher, keep my personal beliefs and opinions out of my classroom? I know I’m going to be a teacher and we’re suppose to be this neutral authority that simply presents arguments and ideas in a mechanical fashion so as not to show preference or offend anyone. But come on… I’m still a person. I have my own beliefs and opinions, and for the most part I am not shy about voicing those. But I worry that as a teacher I’m going to have to almost lose myself for a large majority of my day. I won’t be able to be me, I will have to become this neutral, politically correct, bleached person devout of any personality or opinion. Now before any of you jump down my throat and say I have to keep my personal beliefs to myself because I can’t be viewed as pushing something on a student or convincing students my way is the right way. Duh. I get that. I understand my role. But honestly, that kind of sucks! So I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m worried about not being able to be myself fully as a teacher. How do I maintain my professional, neutral authority as an educator of many diverse people while still maintaining my individuality? Anyone else worry about this going into the teaching profession or am I nuts?